NATSAP 2012 Leadership Award

Friday was an exciting day at the NATSAP Conference as Rosemary Tippett was presented with the Leadership Award during the lunch session.


For the past decade Rosemary has volunteered countless hours working together with other like-minded individuals to found the National Association of Therapeutic Schools and Programs. Rosemary set about to establish an organization for therapeutic schools and programs where staff  and administrators could come together to not only gain additional education in their field but would establish a standard of practice to which member therapeutic schools and programs would attain. With a heart for adolescents Rosemary helped establish this standard of excellence for NATSAP member programs which focuses on the needs of the adolescents: treatment for the issues they face as well as academics.  Because of her genuine desire to see adolescents succeed Rosemary continues to work tirelessly using her time and talent for their greater good.

In her acceptance address Rosemary encouraged everyone to fill their tool boxes with standards of excellence that reflect the mission of NATSAP, the direction of each individual program and the needs of the adolescent.  She used the example of citing that their best practices were set up with the needs of the client first and a focus on positive attitudes for employees. This business model resulted in growing to be the fifteenth best company to work for with annual sales of more than $1B before they were bought by


Presently, Rosemary has joined with renowned consultant BJ Hopper to work with families and adolescents through B.J. Hopper & Rosemary Tippett Educational Consultants in Atlanta. In this new chapter of her life, Rosemary is able to continue her work with adolescents and their families through consulting, making recommendation for educational placement and providing after care.

Rosemary was one of the original founding members of the National Association of Therapeutic Schools and Programs: NATSAP, and is featured in the adjacent photograph along with previous NATSAP Leadership Award Recipients. (L-R: Kimball DeLaMare, InnerChange; Gill Hallows, Legacy Outdoor Adventures; Rosemary Tippett, B.J. Hopper & Rosemary Tippett Educational Consultants; Sharon Laney, Lakehouse Academy;  Jared Balmer, Achieve Consulting Group; and John Santa, Montana Academy.

Congratulations, Rosemary!

Lane Taylor